Meet the Charcoal Master – Joel Colo

Joining us today is Joel Colo, a talented self-taught charcoal artist from Philippine. He is currently working in Saudi Arabia as an  Interior Designer.

A little about Joel Colo

I’m JOEL COLO. I have a natural ability & strong desire to draw especially Charcoal paintings. I started charcoal drawings in 2000. I developed my own techniques of charcoal paintings – to give drawing a realistic look. I want to share my art and talent with everyone.

3 Things I can’t live without: Drawing, Music and my Family

Joel Colo - The Charcoal Artist

Joel Colo

According to Him :)
Joel Colo = 50% ARTcoholic, 30%Mucisian, 20%Magician
Friends = Family
Art = Life
Love = God

Ways to Stalk Him ;)
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/joel.colo.5
Fan Page: Joel Colo – Charcoal Artist

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Interview Questions

When and how’d you get into drawing?
When I was a child I love to draw.. and now here I am!

Can you remember one of the first things you drew?
I can’t remember my 1st drawing.

Why you use Charcoal as your art medium?
I used all kind of materials in drawing.. but my favorite is CHARCOAL because for me this is unique.

What artist has inspired you the most?
There are a lot of artist around the world but I like PILIPINO great artists like JUAN LUNA, BOTONG, MANASALA, and MALANG.

What are you working on currently?
I’m currently working on “CRYING ROSE LEAF”.

CRYING ROSE LEAF

CRYING ROSE LEAF – In progress

How do you feel after you finished or while you are making something?
Im always emotional when I finish my drawing….i feel blessed.

What was the best compliment you’ve ever received?
My drawings have been featured in DRAWING PENCIL 3 times.

What advice do you have for newbie artists?
Love your job, love the ART and don’t stop practice and research.. and don’t forget GOD!

Joel, Thanks alot for taking the time to answer the interview questions. :D

5 thoughts on “Meet the Charcoal Master – Joel Colo

  1. Pingback: CRYING ROSE LEAF | Mieke Rozing

Leave a Reply

