Meet The Super Awesome Author – Jack Croxall

Hello Creativists!
Today, I had the pleasure of interviewing super awesome Jack Croxall author of Tethers.

About Jack
Born in High Wycombe, Jack Croxall now lives in rural Nottinghamshire with his chocolate Labrador, Archie. He has a degree in Environmental Science from the University of Nottingham and currently toils away as a science writer in between working on his books.

Jack Croxall - Author Photo

Ways to Stalk Him 😉
Website: http://www.jackcroxall.co.uk
Twitter: @JackCroxall

Interview

• Tell us a little bit about yourself:
Hi, I’m Jack! I’m an author and science writer living in rural Nottinghamshire (UK) with my puppy-dog, Archie.

• How and when did you realize that writing is something that you have to do?
When I was at university I started writing ‘properly’ for student publications, I think I was bitten by the writing bug as soon as I saw my first article in print.

• Can you remember one of the first things you wrote?
Yes! I used write dinosaur magazines when I was about seven, I’d draw all the pictures myself and research each monster as thoroughly as I could. I remember the ferocious ones which lived in the sea were my favourite!

• Tell us about your book “Tethers”.
Tethers is the story of Karl Scheffer and Esther Emerson; two Victorian teenagers who find an anonymous journal full of bizarre scribblings. The full blurb as well as an extract can be found here: http://bit.ly/VuXxMe

Tethers Cover

• What inspired you to write it?
In 2010, whilst studying postgraduate journalism, I was diagnosed with CFS and subsequently found myself housebound for a number of months. I had always felt I had a novel in me, but suddenly I had the time to produce it. My illness also influenced the mindset of my central characters, Karl and Esther; they are frustrated at being stranded in their small town with no way out to explore the wider world. This frustration was no doubt born from my own aggravations at being unable to escape my own surroundings.

• Have you ever hit someone with your book? 😀
Haha! No, never – I’ve certainly thought about it though! 😛

• If your life was a book, what would its title be?
Tethered

• You are given a painting brush, what would you paint? 
I would probably (attempt to) paint a coastal scene, probably with a rocky shore and a lighthouse. I strongly suspect it would not be very good, however!

• How much money do you have in your wallet/pocket? (Including coins) 😛
Being a lowly writer, about £1.23!

• Have you ever made a paper airplane?
Yep, all the time! I used to make loads of them at school and just never stopped!

• Your all-time favorite book? Why?
His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman, because it is quite simply sublime and the reason I fell in love with young-adult fiction.

• What are your goals as a writer?
That’s a really good question. Obviously, I want people to read and enjoy my work, but I also want to create something that makes the world a tiny bit better. It is probably impossible to say if I’ll ever manage that, but it won’t stop me from trying!

• How often are you found with your pen and diary?
I have a notebook I use to jot things down and doodle in, and I certainly use that every day, but I’ve never kept a diary before. Maybe one day though.

• What are you working on currently?
Book Two in the Tethers trilogy, it’s coming along well so far!

• If you can choose another occupation, what would you like to be?
Well, I have a big interest in nature and the outdoors (hence my science writing) so I would probably become a biological researcher. A few years ago I was offered an incredible opportunity to start on the road to doing just that, but I passed it up to follow the writing path – fingers crossed I made the right decision!

• What’s the best thing about being a writer?
Without a doubt it’s having people discuss your book and characters. Hearing/reading people talk about the story that lived exclusively in my head for so long triggers a feeling like no other. I just love and am so grateful for it.

• How do you feel after you finished or while you are writing?
Hungry, always hungry.

• If you could meet any writer in history who would it be? Why?
Gosh, that’s a tricky one. Maybe Agatha Christie as I adore, and have a million questions, about her characters. Plus I just know she would be so much fun!

• (Suppose) The world is going to end in 5 minutes, what would you write?
I’d probably attempt to write some kind of poetic verse about how beautiful nature and love are, in case a future civilization ever visited the smoldering remains of Earth. Thinking about it though, five minutes would be nowhere near enough for that!

• What advice do you have for newbie writer?
Get involved with the writing community on social networks! The advice and support people offer on there really is incredible.

Describe these in one word:
1. Jack Croxall: Dedicated
2. Hate: Poisonous
3. Love: Invigorating
4. Shakespeare: Master
5. Friends: Family
6. Family: Vital
7. Harry Potter: Inspirational
8. Smile: Fundamental

Choose one:
1. Poem or Story: Story
2. Book or Movie: Book
3. Money or Fame: Money
4. Portrait or landscape: Landscape
5. Chocolate or Donut: Chocolate
6. Funny or Horror: Funny
7. Foxy or Mercedes: Huh?
8. French Fries or Burger: Burger

Jack Croxall,Thanks a bunch for taking the time to answer the interview questions. I’d love you have you on my blog again! 😀

Leave a Reply

