Meet The Cartoonist Tom Falco

I had the great honor of interviewing the talented cartoonist Tom Falco. I hope you will enjoy this interview. Happy Reading! 😀

A Little About Tom Falco
My name is Tom Falco, I am a cartoonist and Journalist. I live in Miami Florida and have since my family moved here when I was a boy. My comic strip Tomversation (www.Tomverstion.com) is published daily at the Tomversation website among various other places. I am the publisher of the Coconut Grove Grapevine, the daily news of the town I live in, a small village in Miami, FL (www.coconutgrovegrapevine.com). I am a local activist, involved in many community projects and events.

tom-press-5

Ways To Stalk Him 😉
Website: http://www.tomversation.com/
Twitter: @tomversation
Instagram: @tomversation
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/tomversation

• When and how’d you get into cartooning?
I just have always drawn cartoons, ever since I can remember.

• Can you remember one of the first things you drew?
Fred Flintstone, I always drew Fred Flintstone as a kid. (I was the kid, not Fred Flintstone).

• Where do your ideas for cartoons come from?
Just every day life, I’ll hear a funny phrase or a new movie, news event or tv show may get me to thinking of something funny about that subject. I like wordplay and the sound of words. Things just pop into my head, my mind is always working.

• How long does it take to make one cartoon?
I used to do very detailed, colorful cartoons which took an hour or so each, now with my new characters, Tom the Rabbit and Jacomo the Mole, I use a simpler, cleaner style, so they take about half an hour to do the actual work.

• What materials and equipment do you use?
Recently I went all digital. I use a Wacom Cintiq tablet to draw the comics then I color them in Photoshop, I use Manga Studio as the software on the Cintiq.

• What does your drawing space look like?
It’s a mess.

• What cartoonist has inspired you the most?
Hanna Barbera and Charles Schulz.

• What are your goals as a cartoonist?
To be in 2000 daily newspapers around the world.

• If not a cartoonist, what would you like to be or do then?
Journalist.

• What’s the best thing about being a cartoonist?
I enjoy entertaining people and making them laugh. With cartooning you are the writer, producer, director, actor, etc. You do it all.

• Which of your cartoon pieces is your favorite?
They all are. That’s like asking me which of my children is my favorite.

• How do you feel after you finished or while you are drawing?
After I complete a cartoon, I literally get giddy. Every single time. I love what I do.

• (Suppose) World is going to end in 5 minutes, what would you draw? 

Fred Flintstone

• What advice do you have for newbie cartoonist?
Just do it. Draw daily. Whether you publish online or just keep the cartoons to yourself, I would say to just draw daily.

Choose one:

  • Money or Fame: Money
  • Funny or Political: Funny
  • Style or Idea: Idea
  • Pizza or Burger: Burger

Describe Them In One Word

  • Tom Falco: Eclectic
  • Hate: Sad
  • Love: Happy
  • Walt Disney: Classic
  • Friends: Love
  • Family: Love
  • Garfield: Meh
  • Smile: Happy

Showcase of his work:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

See more of his awesome work by visiting his website http://www.tomversation.com

Tom, Thank you so much for taking the time to answer the interview questions. It was honor talking to you! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Meet The Cartoonist Tom Falco

  1. Reblogged this on cHeErX!! and commented:
    Tom Falco — a talented cartoonist. If only he would donate some of his talent to me, I’d be dancing & singing all around.
    Enjoyed reading his comics 😀

Leave a Reply

