Guest Post | Deck The Halls Angel

an angel in pink

I love creating angels all year round. It’s a bit of an obsession of mine really! In fact, creating in general is something I do each and every day, without fail. Even if that something is a quick sketch, a digital piece or a simple doodle. I don’t feel like my day is done without some small creative act. Today I wanted to share with you some behind the scenes pictures of a work in progress. She is one of my Christmas Angel designs, and I love her. I hope you will too!

an angel in pink

As you can see above I began with a simple sketch with my 2b pencil. I added some shading (not too much) and then went onto the colour! I shaded her face with a combination of acrylic paints and watercolour crayons. I always begin with the face first of all. I’m not sure why, but it is always my first port of call. I added a wash of colour to the background and to her dress too. Secretly, my favourite part of drawing whimsical ladies is the hair. I just love it! Her hair is quite understated for this lovely angel – often the hair flows over half the page with me!

an angel in pink

As I was waiting for the watercolours and other paints to dry off, I collaged some vintage music manuscript paper onto her angel wings. I love using manuscript paper on my art – it just gives it such depth and more interest than plain paper ever could. It also combines my love of art with my love of music. Once the watercolour layer was dry I was able to go back over the details with my graphite pencil. I also added some highlights with my white paint pen.

an angel in pink

Here I’ve added in more layers to the background and the dress, as well as firming up the intricate details of her face and hair. I think she is starting to look super cute – her angelic expression is the epitome of calm!

an angel in pink

Here I have added some dylusions inks to the dress and her little blue wings, to give the colour more depth and dimension. I also added some metallic pen details to her dress and her (she’s so bling!) The final step before stepping away and letting the painting dry completely was to add some sparkle medium! I used gold on her lovely wings and a lovely dark blue around the edges of the page. I used a stencil to get the circular patterns on the page. They’re my favourite thing at the moment!

an angel in pink

The final (really final) step was to add some stamp details. I used a variety of stamps around the edges to frame the angel in place and to add some texture and detail. My favourite stamps are some text based ones, a paisley one and some floral designs. None of them were expensive but I think they look fabulous! I also stamped her Christmas message on there: “Deck The Halls”.

She is now ready to bring some Christmas cheer to the world, both as an art print and as a card.

I hope you enjoyed this little peek into my process – I have definitely enjoyed getting to share it with you here.

Have a great day lovelies!

A Little About Sarah

me rounded and black and white 200

Sarah Leonard is an artist, curiosity seeker and all round magic sprinkler. You can find her (and her many offerings over on her website, A Cat-Like Curiosity. She is also the founder of The Curiously Gorgeous Sisterhood, an online community for creative souls. There is a special offer on instalments at the moment, so as many gorgeous creative souls can join us as possible. Hurry though – the instalments offer runs out on October 21st.

Ways To Stalk Her

Facebook | Twitter | InstagramWebsite

One thought on “Guest Post | Deck The Halls Angel

Leave a Reply

