An Interview With Tariq Afridi – The Cartoonist

We had the great honor of interviewing Tariq Afridi, a talented cartoonist from Pakistan. We hope you will enjoy this interview as much as we did compiling it. Happy Reading! 🙂

Tariq Afridi - The Cartoonist

A Little About Tariq Afridi
My name is Muhammad Tariq Afridi. I was born on June 1, 1965 in the Khyber agency near Peshawar. We are five brothers. We don’t have a sister. My father settled permanently in Peshawar for Government service. Henceforth, my initial schooling as well as matriculation took place in a public school. After matriculation, got a job in Karachi Port Trust KPT in 1982. Lived in Karachi for a while. Then came to Peshawar leaving that job. By luck, got a job here that continued till 2002. Along with the job, continued studies till MA (Urdu). Apart from this, I had a passion for drawing since childhood; I took admission in a private institute to learn Pencil Portraits in 1988. Let me tell an important point; I wished to take admission in National College of Arts (NCA) in 1986 but the family did permit since Drawing is considered a sin in our society. At present, I am married and a father of 7 kids. All the kids are young.

When and how’d you get into cartooning?
I often sat with a friend of mine in an English newspaper. A cartoonist also sat there, working. Seeing him work, I got inspired.

Can you remember one of the first things you drew?
When I studied in Primary school, I was found of drawing. I often drew cars and trucks. Later in high school, I used to draw the portraits of Quaid-e-Azam and Allama Iqbal.

Where do your ideas for cartoons come from?
From TV, newspapers or Internet…

How long does it take to make one cartoon?
At times, you don’t get an idea for hours. Sometimes, you get an idea as it automatically pops up like a revelation.

What are your goals as a cartoonist?
I dream of getting rid of the social menaces through this art by playing my part and get nationwide recognition across Pakistan.

If not a cartoonist, what would you like to be or do then?
Maybe, I might have been an actor. I was also fond of acting in childhood.

What’s the best thing about being a cartoonist?
You can give a big message in a small picture.

How do you feel after you finished or while you are drawing?
I feel very light.

What advice do you have for newbie cartoonist?
I think that this is a very time-taking profession. It takes a heavy mental toll. You will need to devote yourself to it. It takes great sacrifice. But the basic condition is that you will have to endorse it like a passion.

Showcase of his work:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You can see more of his work on his Facebook Page: Tariq Afridi

2 thoughts on “An Interview With Tariq Afridi – The Cartoonist

Leave a Reply

